Getting through winter to get to summer

Between the Lines

Last spring I ran a half-marathon in St. Louis. As I was trying to talk myself into registering and paying the money to run (which seems much crazier now that I type it; paying money to run…) I imagined how nice it would be to run in mid-April in downtown St. Louis with 16,000 other people. I thought about the warm breeze at my back and the thousands of cheering fans lining the streets giving the runners encouragement.

photo-1438480478735-3234e63615bbBut in order to be ready for the race in the middle of April, I had to start my training plan at the end of January. Those dreams and visions of a warm, spring day seemed a long way off as I stepped out the door on many a cold Iowa morning for a run. As I put on layer upon layer of cold weather gear, I kept thinking how nice it…

View original post 435 more words

Leave a Reply

