Slow Church – My Foreword

I’ve discovered there are times when I take a break from reading for Seminary, I take a break by reading about fantasy baseball, or about the Iowa Hawkeyes, or read the news, or another host of topics. During one of these breaks when I was browsing the internet for things to read, I stumbled upon a group called Slow Church. It’s a group similar to the Slow Food movement. Here’s what Wikipedia has to say about the Slow Food movement: “Promoted as an alternative to fast food, it strives to preserve traditional and regional cuisine and encourages farming of plants, seeds and livestock characteristic of the local ecosystem.” I knew about Slow Food, so I was interested in Slow Church.

After a little digging I found out that one of the founders of Slow Church is a Christian Church member. I was excited for the simple fact that we are brothers in Christ at first, but even more excited when I found out we were brethren within the same tradition, the Stone-Campbell movement. I found them on Twitter and much to my delight they posted tweets I agreed with about the nature of church and culture. Here are a few of my favorites:

I also found their blog on Patheos (you can find it here). I devoured their articles, finding more and more nuggets of knowledge and inspiration. I also discovered they were writing a book, set to release this year.

Well I bought this book, and look forward to sitting down and beginning to read it. When I tweeted at the guys I was planning on reading the book, they replied with the request of me letting them know what I thought of it. And I will.

I’ll offer a review of their book after I read it, but in the spirit of the book, It might take some time because I’m planning on taking my time with it: time to savour, time to stew, time to engage, time to sit. And you know what? I think they’d be okay with it.

Pax.

 

Leave a Reply

