Useless Papers and Callings

I don’t like to write just to write. I’m a big proponent of, “If you don’t have anything constructive to say, don’t open your d*** mouth.” I know there are times I don’t follow this rule, and what constructive is for me is different for everyone else, but I think there is some sort of truth to the statement. I guess you could say it’s a life commandment (shout out to Pastoral Care). 

But one of my pet peeves about Seminary is that sometimes it seems we are given assignments just to be given assignments. We are expected to write because we are expected to write. It’s frustrating not only for me, but for a lot of my friends too. We have enough going on in our lives before having to write 5 pages just because. I’m sure there is rationale behind the paper; I’ll give the professor that. And it seems that I stumbled upon a reason behind my writing a paper that was due today.

I’ve struggled over the past 5-6 years to identify specifically what I am called to do. I won’t beat around the bush, I felt called to church-work, pastoral ministry, but I didn’t know specifically what that meant. I was able to find the words behind the feeling. Here is a paraphrase from that paper: the goal of ordained ministry (the ministry I aspire to) should be to preach, teach, and invite people into a world view that is God-oriented, Love-oriented, so that the Love of God in its many forms can be known to all peoples. 

I know there’s some vague, Seminary specific, language in there, but the thrust is powerful (at least to me). I take seriously the charge of “God is Love,” so my ministry needs to be proclaiming that from the top mountains to the bottom of the sea. Everyone needs to know that they are loved. Everyone. As the denomination coined “All means All.” Period. 

I guess writing to write does have its perks sometimes. 

Leave a Reply

