Summer time

There’s a Sublime song that talks about “Summer time, and the living’s easy.” Well I’m pretty sure that those persons writing that song did not lead a youth group. School’s out for me, and it is almost out for the youth of Azle Christian Church and that means more time to spend hanging out with each other and having “relational” youth ministry opportunities. It also means that it’s mission trip season and summer camp season. I get to work two camps this summer and help lead three different mission trips with the first one starting this Friday!

One of the things that we are doing differently this summer at ACC is that we are not going to have regular meetings for the Youth Group. I wanted to have more organic opportunities to spend time together. This is not to say that we will not be meeting, we just won’t be meeting on Wednesday nights anymore (this is in part brought on by the fact that the church doesn’t have meals on Wednesdays during the summer!) Instead, along with pool parties and fun games, I’m borrowing an idea from my youth minister friend in Iowa; I will be asking the parents of the youth to sponsor a mission activity for the youth. The parents will pick a local mission that they feel passionate about and schedule a time for the youth to learn about it and work with it. My hope is that this will expose the youth to local missions that they can become passionate about and also to have the parents model a way of living their faith out.

Fall planning is also in full swing: planning out curriculum, finding dates for activities, finding new sponsors, recruiting old sponsors, etc. Fun times indeed.

Summertime and the living is great, not necessarily easy. I pray that you yourself find time to slow down and enjoy the little things in life; I know that I’m going to try.

P.S. This summer I’m going to a Cubs game the 3rd out of 4 summers with my best friend Andrew; my hope is that this a trend that continues!

Leave a Reply

