Change for the Good

I had a wonderful Christmas. It started off with two great services at Azle Christian Church. The first service was held at Four P.M. in our Heritage Chapel. It ended up being standing room only. I was proud of everyone involved. We then had a wonderful candle service at 11. The only thing that would have made my Christmas Eve better was if it had snowed a little (only a little) that night, I know…I’m crazy…remember I’m from Iowa!

My parents then got into town on Christmas Day. They had to drive through some bad weather so I was glad that they were able to make it to me. We spent a wonderful week together. They even got to see me preach this past Sunday (I’ll post the audio when it is converted to a suitable format).  I am incredibly blessed to have them in my life.

A few months ago I wrote that I was working on a mission statement for the Youth Program at ACC, well I have come up with a preliminary statement. This is not going to be the final draft, but it is something to start with, to test the waters. Let me know what you think of it; I’m open to criticism and insight. So here it is:

The Youth Program of Azle Christian Church will endeavor to empower our youth to become better Disciples to Christ Jesus and attain spiritual growth through the learning of God’s mercy in this time and in the past, contemplating of Christ’s humility, and enacting God’s justice in the world (Based on Micah 6:8)

As many people know, Micah 6:8 is one of my favorite verses in the Bible. I thought that it would be a good starting point for the mission statement, so let me know if I’m off-base or on the right track. 
This night is the beginning of Wednesday night Youth Programming. We are sponsoring a meal tonight, Frito Pie, but next week we will start meeting for games, a meal, and usually Bible Study. We also do other things like go do service projects, go to sporting events, etc. I’m excited about this change in ministry. I am hoping that the youth will be enthusiastic about it as well. 
I preached back in November on the story of the Syrophoenician Woman. I am proud to say that the audio has been posted. So I leave you with fifteen minutes of my wonderful God-given voice (sarcasm):
(Mark 7:24-30)
Leave a Reply

