And We’re Off

So the past few days have been a whirlwind of emotions. I came back from an amazing time in Albuquerque, NM with some fantastic friends only to start my ministerial career two days later. This past Sunday was my first “official” day as the Youth Minister at Azle Christian Church in Azle, TX. In reality I have been preparing for this job for a long time, with intense study coming after I was offered and took it.

Sunday was wonderful. I got into the office at 8:30; I wanted to be there at 8, but there was a mishap with my pants and some coffee. A little time to prepare and then I was greeted by my first guest of the day. I had an hour long talk with a youth from the congregation. It was nothing planned, but it was nice to know that one can have an hour long talk just because. After that was Sunday school where we talked (loosely) about our favorite verses from the Bible (Micah 6:8 for me). Then it was off to worship, where the graduates were recognized and God was felt. After Church there was a set up display for each of the graduates, I even got a star too! I felt truly welcomed and loved in that congregation, what a wonderful feeling. I am looking forward to working with the youth and the wider congregation.

Azle’s Original Church now called the Heritage Building

I then got news at about 12:30 in the morning on Tuesday that my Sister-in-law had gone into labor. While it didn’t really register at that time, I was asleep, the rest of the day was filled with anticipation as I waited for the news! We still didn’t know what sex the baby was! I found out after a great dinner with friends that I had become an uncle of a beautiful baby boy named Henry Richard Ryan. He will be called Indiana because that’s how the Ryan’s do. I am so happy and joyful for this life that my brother and sister-in-law brought into this world together. I am particularly proud of Katie and the trooper I heard she was. While I am sad that I was not there to see the little tyke yesterday and today, I am excited to see him in less than a month (along with the rest of my family and the Nelsons!)

All of this is to say that I am truly happy at this time in my life. Thanks be to God.

One thought on “And We’re Off

Leave a Reply

